Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How Do You Setup A BPA Cllient With Netsetup?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    UTAH
    Posts
    303

    How Do You Setup A BPA Cllient With Netsetup?

    The first thing you need to do is make sure that your server and clients have network cards and are configured properly. Next you need to share the drive on your server machine in which the BPA directory resides, which is usually the C drive.

    After you have done that you will need to go to each client computer and map a drive letter to that shared drive on the server, we usually use the F drive letter for the network mapping but you can use any drive letter you want. We also recommend that you use the same drive letter on all the clients for the network drive mapping.

    Once you have mapped a drive letter to the server on the client you will need to run the netsetup.exe in the servers bpa directory by clicking on the start button and selecting Run.

    Then type X:\bpa\netsetup.exe in the run command window where X is your network mapped drive letter to the server. For example if your Mapped Drive Letter is J then you would enter J:\bpa\netsetup.exe in the run command window. After you have typed that into the run command window then you click the OK button which will start the netsetup program.

    When the netsetup screen appears you will see two options, one is Destination Location(Local Hard Drive) which usually has a vaule of C. This option tells the program the drive letter to copy the Bpa client installation to. The other is Network Server Drive which should contain the drive letter that you mapped to your server's shared drive. You shouldn't have to change either of the options. Now all you have to do is click on the "Install BPA On This Work Station" button. It will copy all the nessary files to your client computer from the server and set up the config.fpw file on the client computer correctly as well as creating a shortcut to the program under the "Programs" Program group in you start menu.

    That should be it, if you have any other questions feel free to reply to this post or post a new thread in this forum.
    Last edited by Tyson; 01-26-2009 at 08:38 AM.
    Joe

    BSS Tech Support Manager / Software Engineer

  2. #2
    JoshnKate Guest

    Question Setting up BPA Client

    Joe,

    your directions indicate:

    The first thing you need to do is make sure that your server and clients have network cards and are configured properly

    How do I validate this? We have HP e-PC terminals.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    UTAH
    Posts
    303
    First make sure each computer's network card has a different ip address on the using the same subnet mask.

    Example:

    Computer 1 ip address - 192.168.0.1
    Computer 2 ip address - 192.168.0.2
    Computer 3 ip address - 192.168.0.3

    All using a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0

    Once you have done that then usually the easiest way to do this is from each station open a command window and try to "Ping" each of the other computers ip addresses using the ping command and see if you get a response.

    Example:

    ping 192.168.0.1
    ping 192.168.0.2
    ping 192.168.0.3
    Joe

    BSS Tech Support Manager / Software Engineer

  4. #4
    daltonsupply Guest

    Re: How Do You Setup A BPA Cllient With Netsetup?

    Originally posted by Joe

    When the netsetup screen appears you will see two options, one is Destination Location(Local Hard Drive) which usually has a vaule of C. This option tells the program the drive letter to copy the Bpa client installation to. The other is Network Server Drive which should contain the drive letter that you mapped to your server's shared drive. You shouldn't have to change either of the options. Now all you have to do is click on the "Install BPA On This Work Station" button. It will copy all the nessary files to your client computer from the server and set up the config.fpw file on the client computer correctly as well as creating a shortcut to the program under the "Programs" Program group in you start menu.

    That should be it, if you have any other questions feel free to reply to this post or post a new thread in this forum.
    Joe:
    We have done this... I'm the tech who just finished networking these machines, and it installs, however, there's an "attrib" error when it installs and second, when we go to run it, we get an error stating "can't update the cursor. Contact your system administrator." Both the "client" and "server" PC are Windows 98. The version of BPA.EXE we have is dated May 26, 2003 if that helps.

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Posts
    546
    Sounds like you don't have sharing set up properly on the server computer. Make sure the network drives are mapped to the "C" drive. Then on the share, make sure that the clients have FULL access to the drive. (allow network users to change my files)
    Business Software Solutions, Inc.
    (801) 336-3303

Similar Threads

  1. How to setup 'delivery' option in a new setup installation?
    By me_frangi in forum Single Computer Installation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-04-2009, 03:57 PM
  2. Netsetup - > Do option
    By CnC in forum Network Client Installation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-15-2005, 03:33 PM
  3. netsetup.exe issue
    By Netguy in forum Network Client Installation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-13-2005, 08:57 AM
  4. ERROR after netsetup
    By ana in forum Network Client Installation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-09-2004, 08:33 PM
  5. How Do You Setup A BPA Cllient?
    By Joe in forum Network Client Installation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-27-2002, 04:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •