Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Edit products and menu items from another computer

  1. #1
    tjssportsbar Guest

    Edit products and menu items from another computer

    I am running a single computer system in my bar/restaurant and have had it up and running for about a year now. I am wondering if there is a way to have a second computer running with BPA on it so I can make changes to the menu with out having to be on the server and tie up the system while it's being used for sales. More or less an "import" of information to the server would be the best option for me. We are open so many hours of the day it leaves very little off time for making changes and perfecting my menu set up.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Posts
    548
    I would recommend a second computer attached to the server through a network.

    However, they do charge station license fee's for each machine you add that is going to run bpa.

    Maybe contact their technical support staff to see what they recommend.

    (801) 336-3303
    Business Software Solutions, Inc.
    (801) 336-3303

  3. #3
    kehardman Guest
    Can you edit off line and then upload to the server? Our hours are not conductive to having everyone off the system for an extended period of time while we updagte menus and products. I would like to do the editing on a laptop at home and then upload just after closing.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Posts
    548
    Quote Originally Posted by kehardman View Post
    Can you edit off line and then upload to the server? Our hours are not conductive to having everyone off the system for an extended period of time while we updagte menus and products. I would like to do the editing on a laptop at home and then upload just after closing.
    No, I don't recommend this at all. Any uploading would have to be done manually through the windows file system and if you replace the wrong files then you have a chance to lose historical sales data.

    If you want to work on BPA from a different location then it is easier and in a sense "safer" to dial in using some type of remote desktop software. The only downfall is that you take control of the computer that you are dialing into. I would recommend that you have an alternate machine to do this. (i.e. back office computer)
    Business Software Solutions, Inc.
    (801) 336-3303

Similar Threads

  1. problems with menu items
    By noisyoyster in forum Bpa Restaurant Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-28-2008, 04:13 PM
  2. Menu items not on receipt
    By SHANNON76 in forum Bpa Restaurant Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-27-2006, 03:09 PM
  3. Deleting Menu Items
    By gcmb in forum Restaurant Sales
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-01-2006, 10:26 AM
  4. Import menu and product setup to a new computer?
    By joshcloud9 in forum Importing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-30-2003, 09:42 PM
  5. Menu Items
    By bchester in forum Restaurant Sales
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-18-2003, 01:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •